Stalker Cars
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System

Go down

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Empty Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System

Post by comled Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:11 am

I have been working on the fuel system implementation for several months now, trying to get an installation that I felt comfortable with in terms of the fuel pump and filter locations. In the stock fuel system design, there's a pre-pump filter that feeds the Walbro GSL392 pump. The pump directly feeds the regulator and the regulator then connects to the fuel injection hardline in the engine bay via a long run of stainless braided hose routed along the transmission tunnel.

I'm using the Stalker Cars aluminum fuel tank which has a sump and a -8 takeoffpoint more or less in the center of the car on the rear of the sump. I wanted to do the fuel pump and filter mounting a bit differently from the stock location. Everything's a bit low to the ground there and there's not much protection from the road. Space is limited by the proximity of various frame parts and the wishbones. I also wanted to add some sort of post-pump fuel line filter.

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Fuel-s17
I started with the easy part - mounting the regulator. Stock location is on the top of the tank, mounted on a 90 degree -8 elbow but it needs mechanical support as well. The Aeromotive regulator bracket isn't well suited to mounting in the Stalker's limited space around the tank so it has to be modified.

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Fuel-s15
I cut the Aeromotive bracket off along the red line shown and added my own extension to it.

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Fuel-s14
Welded and drilled to mount on the frame.

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Fuel-s13
Corresponding hole drilled in the frame (finally - a use for that right-angle air tool).

Classic R #27 Build - Fuel System Fuel-s12